The Rose Lubin Jewish Pride Award

The Rose Lubin Jewish Pride Award

Nominations are now closed

The Rose Lubin Jewish Pride Award is a cash award intended to recognize and promote an individual whose work exemplifies leadership, innovation, and creativity through an initiative that champions the Pillars of Jewish Pride described in Michael Steinhardt’s 2022 book, Jewish Pride.

Rose Lubin

The Award is named in memory of Sergeant Rose Lubin, the Atlanta native who bravely defended and rescued victims of the infamous terrorist attack on October 7, 2023 and lost her life in a subsequent terrorist attack while guarding the Old City of Jerusalem.

By honoring individuals, organizations, and programs that exemplify the pillars of Jewish Pride, this award has the broader purpose of inspiring their adoption as central goals and aspirations throughout the Jewish world and of encouraging new initiatives based on these principles.

There are six criteria for identifying individuals and their programs/organizations for the Rose Lubin Jewish Pride Award: three reflecting the Pillars of Jewish Pride and three reflecting desirable programmatic characteristics.

Pillars of Jewish Pride

Individuals nominated for the Rose Lubin Jewish Pride Award must have created programs that exhibit at least ONE of these pillars as described below:

  1. Peoplehood

    Background: The Jewish people spans the world, crossing national, cultural, and ethnic lines.

    A commitment to Jewish peoplehood means reaching out beyond your own Jewish circle, learning about world Jewry as well as Jews at home who may express being Jewish differently from yourself, and taking responsibility for the well-being of Jews everywhere.

    A qualifying initiative demonstrably promotes Jewish peoplehood by highlighting and/or exemplifying these ideals. Programs with deep connections to Israel and Israeli life and culture certainly exhibit this pillar, as well.

  2. Excellence

    Background: Over the centuries, Jewish culture developed a particular kind of excellence—what Jewish Pride calls the “creative intellect, applied for the good.”

    This has helped Jews excel far beyond their numbers in science, technology, culture, the arts, and more.

    A qualifying initiative demonstrably promotes Jewish excellence by recognizing or understanding the ways Jews have bettered the world; and/or by preserving or amplifying these specific qualities of excellence.

  3. Joy

    Background: There is an unfathomable joy in being Jewish, one that manifests itself in moments of celebration as well as anguish, but also in everyday gatherings of Jews, in both religious and secular contexts.

    A qualifying initiative demonstrably promotes Jewish pride by tapping into that joy, deepening it, spreading it, and making it an integral aspect of the Jewish experience of the program’s participants.

Programmatic Characteristics

Eligible programs should demonstrate ALL of the following:

  1. Measurable impact: including clear and compelling metrics.
  2. Scalability: potentially expanding to reach a large segment of the Jewish population.
  3. Sustainability: offering a viable pathway to financial maintenance of the program even at a large scale.

Award Amount:

$100,000: $70,000 to the individual and $30,000 to the program. There will be no conditions attached to the use of the award.


To qualify for the Rose Lubin Jewish Pride Award, Nominees must be:

  • 18 years or older
  • residing in North America
  • associated with a nonprofit organization that serves the Jewish community in North America (Israel-based programs that serve North American Jews are eligible, as long as they are affiliated with a charitable organization or a fiscal sponsor in North America).

The program or its non-profit host organization (if applicable) must be:

  • currently in operation
  • registered with the IRS as a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization or be fiscally sponsored by one (if located in the US) or registered with the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) as a charity or be fiscally sponsored by a charity registered with the CRA.

Nominations for persons affiliated with organizations of all budget sizes are welcome. The organizations can be relatively new or well-established. Nominees working with start-up nonprofits are eligible, but the criteria for selection include the above programmatic characteristics, thus the initiative must have at least one year of measurable results. Nominations for the 2024 Rose Lubin Jewish Pride Award will only be accepted through this website until 11 pm EST on Friday, March 15, 2024. The Steinhardt Foundation will inform Nominees by email with a link to a full application. If the Nominee is interested in pursuing this opportunity, the Nominee will be required to gather all the required documents and submit them through the Foundation’s designated portal by Friday, May 3, 2024, at 11 PM EST.

The Steinhardt Foundation for Jewish Life will review all applications and submit up to 10 semi-finalists to an independent expert advisory committee who will recommend a winner to the Foundation Board. The winner will be announced in September 2024.

Please direct all press inquiries to For all other questions, please contact